Society of Sound: Joonas Haavisto

Joonas Haavisto by Antti Aimo-Koivisto

Bowers & Wilkins Society of Sound are lucky to have the opportunity to preview the album Gradation, the latest album by the Joonas Haavisto Trio, before its worldwide release in spring 2019 by Germany-based label Membran.

Joonas Haavisto is a Finnish pianist and composer. His compositions are based on beautiful melodies, creating music that explores free elements and multilayered, surprising rhythmic motifs. He joined the world famous Steinway Artist roster in 2017 alongside artists that include Ahmad Jamal, Keith Jarrett, Robert Glaspar and Brad Mehldau. As well as leading his own band, Joonas has played as a soloist with chamber orchestras and big bands.

“…the trio’s real thrill lies in its unique balance and those breathtaking moments in their nuanced playing” (Jazz Critiques Magazine).

Line up
Joonas Haavisto, piano
Antti Lötjönen, double bass
Joonas Riippa, drums
(Antti Lötjönen uses ribbon mics made in Finland called Sandhill.)

Read more and download Gradation here