Here It Is out today

Here It Is: A Tribute to Leonard Cohen, is released today on Blue Note Records. A remarkable new album produced by Larry Klein that presents stunning renditions of the legendary singer-songwriter Leonard Cohen’s profound songs performed by an extraordinary line-up of guest vocalists: Norah Jones, Peter Gabriel, Gregory Porter, Sarah McLachlan, Luciana Souza, James Taylor, Iggy Pop, Mavis Staples, David Gray, and Nathaniel Rateli­ff.

You can hear Peter’s version of the title track here.

Anyone looking at an empty page trying to write a song lyric sits in the shadow of the mountain that was Leonard Cohen.

He knew the exact weight and flavour of every word and phrase he used and applied them with the precision of a surgeon. His unique voice painted unforgettable pictures that will stay with me, and my generation, until we drop.

I am delighted to be a part of ‘Here it Is’. Larry, I’ve known, worked with and respected for a long time and I knew he would create something special. He has assembled an extraordinary group of musicians, all wonderful players who know well both how to bring something to life and how to stay out of the way of a great song. I’m sure this record will pass the test of time. – pg

The album’s 12 tracks offer a range of Cohen’s compositions, with songs drawn from his beloved 1967 debut Songs of Leonard Cohen all the way up to selections from his final album, You Want It Darker, released just days before his death in 2016.

The track listing for Here It Is: A Tribute to Leonard Cohen is as follows:
1. Steer Your Way – Norah Jones
2. Here It Is – Peter Gabriel
3. Suzanne – Gregory Porter
4. Hallelujah – Sarah McLachlan
5. Avalanche – Immanuel Wilkins
6. Hey, That’s No Way to Say Goodbye – Luciana Souza
7. Coming Back to You – James Taylor
8. You Want It Darker – Iggy Pop
9. If It Be Your Will – Mavis Staples
10. Seems So Long Ago, Nancy – David Gray
11. Famous Blue Raincoat – Nathaniel Rateliff
12. Bird on The Wire – Bill Frisell

Available now on D2C exclusive color vinyl, black vinyl, CD, or digital download.