Our site uses cookies to make the experience better for you. By using this website or closing this message you are agreeing to our Cookie Policy close ×

Plays Live

Plays Live
Release date : 9th June 1983
  1. I Have The Touch
  2. Family Snapshot
  3. D. I. Y.
  4. The Family And The Fishing Net
  5. I Go Swimming
  6. San Jacinto
  7. Solsbury Hill
  8. No Self Control
  9. I Don't Remember
  10. Shock The Monkey
  11. Humdrum
  12. Biko

Plays Live

“An inspiring introduction to Gabriel’s extraordinary solo ambitions” – Rolling Stone

Recorded at several venues across the American Midwest in late 1982 and released the following June, Plays Live was effectively a sign-off to the first phase of Gabriel the solo artist, before he embarked on the soundtrack to the Alan Parker film Birdy.

As such, it’s a celebration of all that was achieved on that opening quartet of self-titled long-players, while also standing as confirmation of Peter being an engaged and engaging frontman. At the time, all bar one of the tracks would be familiar to the Gabriel completist, the exception being the previously unreleased I Go Swimming. It would be the first of several live albums that Peter went on to release.

  1. CD
  2. Digital