Peace Through Music: 1 December 2020

Peace Through Music: A Global Event for Social Justice, is a virtual, global event to inspire people to act for peace and justice, everywhere for everyone, and will feature more than 200 musicians from all over the world.

Peter is taking part in the event with a special performance of Biko accompanied by some of those musicians from around the world.

The event will premiere exclusively on Facebook Live on the Playing For Change Facebook Page on 1 December 2020 at 8pm UK (21.00 CET / 12pm PST / 3pm EST). It will feature a chorus of some of the world’s most passionate and talented performers, such as Aloe Blacc, Angélique Kidjo, Annie Lennox, Becky G, Brandi Carlile with Mike McCready of Pearl Jam, Carlos Santana and Cindy Blackman Santana, Gabi Melim, Gary Clark Jr., Jack Johnson, Jim James, Keb’ Mo’, Keith Richards, Mavis Staples, Nathaniel Rateliff, Peter Gabriel, Rhiannon Giddens, Ringo Starr, Robbie Robertson, Robert Randolph, Run The Jewels with Josh Homme, Sheila E., Skip Marley and Cedella Marley, The War and Treaty, Yo-Yo Ma and more.

As part of the activities to commemorate the United Nations 75th anniversary, Peace Through Music will spotlight people of African descent and will champion the full protection and promotion of human rights for all. Through the universal language of music and the art of storytelling, the event will call for equality, human rights, and an end to discrimination, and will embody the unity and common purpose that beat in the heart of humanity.