Our site uses cookies to make the experience better for you. By using this website or closing this message you are agreeing to our Cookie Policy close ×

Shaking The Tree - Sixteen Golden Greats

Shaking The Tree
Release date : 19th November 1990
  1. Solsbury Hill
  2. I Don't Remember
  3. Sledgehammer
  4. Family Snapshot
  5. Mercy Street
  6. Shaking The Tree
  7. Don't Give Up
  8. San Jacinto
  9. Here Comes The Flood
  10. Red Rain
  11. Games Without Frontiers
  12. Shock The Monkey
  13. I Have The Touch
  14. Big Time
  15. Zaar
  16. Biko

Shaking The Tree - Sixteen Golden Greats

“Most of the tracks are more than ‘golden greats’ – they’re some of the best rock songs of the post-punk era” – Entertainment Weekly

Released in 1990, Shaking The Tree was a career-spanning overview of Peter’s solo years from that first self-titled album of 1977 up to the 1989 Passion soundtrack. There were still plenty of curiosities and rarities to snag the ear of the completist. The compilation’s title track, a playful duet between Peter and Senegalese superstar Youssou N’Dour, hadn’t previously appeared on a Gabriel album, just on Youssou’s The Lion long-player. Here it reappears, albeit it with a new vocal from Peter. Here Comes The Flood, originally from that 1977 debut, is also revisited, this time in a deeply effective (and affecting) piano-and-voice treatment.

  1. CD
  2. Digital