Peter to be honoured with the 2004 Music industry Trusts’ Award

Peter Gabriel will be the 2004 recipient of the prestigious annual Music Industry Trusts’ Award. The Award will be presented on the evening of 1 November at London’s Grosvenor House. The UK music industry will celebrate and honour a music career that has consistently broken the mould and challenged the conventional. Peter Gabriel is a creative tour de force, whose contribution to the music industry is immense, tireless and inspirational.

The Music Industry Trusts’ Award is in its 13th year and has raised over #2 million for its charities. Over 1000 guests from the music and entertainment industries attend the charity dinner, which has the dual role of honouring an individual who has made an outstanding contribution to the UK music industry and raising funds for the two nominated charities: Nordoff Robbins Music Therapy and the BRIT Trust (which includes the BRIT school for Performing Arts and Technology). Previous honourees include Sir George Martin, Elton John and Bernie Taupin, Ahmet Ertegun, John Barry, Andrew Lloyd Webber, and last year, Rob Dickins.

On hearing that he was to be the 2004 Award recipient Peter commented:

An “Artists’ relationship with the music business is a bit like a marriage with all its perils and pleasures, so it was a very pleasant surprise and honour to have been offered this Award.”

David Munns, chairman of the Award committee, said:
‘Eclectic is an overused word in our industry…however, Peter Gabriel not only represents the word, he lives it. A look at his career, and he’s got several lifetimes worth, tells of an extra-ordinary talent. His music with Genesis and then with his solo career, has given us great songs, his work fighting injustice is done with commitment and modesty, his concerts are unique, his work with WOMAD has been pioneering, and his ability to see very early the potential of the internet for music shows a man with a rare vision. We are very proud to honour Peter Gabriel with the 2004 Music Industry Trusts’ Award.