Our site uses cookies to make the experience better for you. By using this website or closing this message you are agreeing to our Cookie Policy close ×

Peter Gabriel to receive the Frankfurt Music Prize 2006

The Frankfurt Music Prize was founded in 1980 and is awarded annually by the Trustees of the Frankfurt Music Prize Foundation on the occasion of the international Musikmesse in Frankfurt (Kurato-rium Stiftung Frankfurter Musikpreis zur Inter-nationalen Musikmesse Frankfurt) to personalities from the world of music for special achievements in the fields of interpretation, composition, musicology and teaching.

Peter will be accepting the award on March 28th.

Previous winners of the Frankfurter Music Prize:
1982 Gidon Kremer (violinist)
1983 Edgar Krapp (organist)
1984 Alfred Brendel (pianist)
1985 Brigitte Fassbaender (opera singer)
1986 Albert Mangelsdorff (jazz trombonist)
1987 Carl Dahlhaus (musicologist)
1988 Heinz Holliger (oboist)
1989 Ludwig Güttler (trumpeter)
1990 Chick Corea (jazz pianist)
1991 Aribert Reiman (composer)
1992 Georg Solti (conductor)
1993 Harry Kupfer (director)
1994 Brian Eno (musician and sound artist)
1995 Tabea Zimmermann (violinist)
1996 Wolfgang Niedecken (singer and songwriter)
1997 Prof. Hans Zender (composer and conductor)
1998 Peter Herbolzheimer (arranger, interpreter and composer)
1999 Prof. Michael Gielen (conductor and composer)
2000 Klaus Doldinger (saxophonist)
2001 Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau (singer)
2002 Not awarded
2003 Walter Levin (violinist & professor of chamber music)
2004 Udo Lindenberg (rock musician)
2005 György Ligeti (composer)

Share : facebooktwittergoogle plus